Our leadership team has studied hepatitis in great research institutes, dirt-floored clinics and, in one case, in his own body.

Board of Directors



Gregg H. Alton, President


Manal El Sayed Charles Gore
Gottfried Hirnschall

Kenneth Kabagambe

Lynn Lau, Treasurer
Carol Tissot, Secretary and General Counsel ZeShan Foundation, Observer  



Finn Jarle Rode, Executive Director Wangsheng Li, Founding President 

Advisory Council

The scope of The Hepatitis Fund’s activities spans numerous hepatitis prevention and care interventions that target different populations in a wide range of geographical settings. Members of the Advisory Council have expertise in key programmatic aspects of hepatitis prevention and care, are representative of the key populations affected by hepatitis and of regions heavily affected by hepatitis. 

Joan Block
retired executive director, Hepatitis B Foundation
Saeed Hamid– co-chair, Coalition to Eradicate Viral Hepatitis in Asia Pacific Homie Razavi– executive director, Center for Disease Analysis Foundation
Lewis Roberts -director, Gastroenterology and Hepatology Cancer Center at the Mayo Clinic Shin Young-Soo -director emeritus, WHO Western Pacific Regional Office Su Wang– president, World Hepatitis Alliance

ZeShan Foundation    

Steering and Oversight Committees

We thank members of the EndHep2030 steering committee and oversight committee who supported the emergence of this initiative.

Oversight Committee members

The Oversight Committee was active from November 2017 - December 2019. It was created as the managing body for EndHep2030 as an RPA-sponsored project.

Steering Committe members

The Steering Committee was created to stand up the EndHep2030 project. It was in commission from November 2016 through October 2017. The Steering Committee accomplished its mandate upon the launch of EndHep2030 in 2017.

Manal El-Sayed

Professor of Pediatrics at Ain Shams University.

Marc Bulterys

WHO Global Hepatitis Programme

Charles Gore

Executive Director
World Hepatitis Alliance

Charles Gore

Executive Director
World Hepatitis Alliance

Jinlin Hou

Chairman and Professor of the Hepatology Unit and Department of Infectious Diseases, Nanfang Hospital, Southern Medical University.

Rana Hajjeh

Department of Communicable Disease Prevention and Control,
WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean

Paul Kuehnert

Vice President, Program
Robert Woods Johnson Foundation

Ying-ru Jacqueline Lo

Team Lead
HIV, Hepatitis & STD, WHO Western Pacific Regional Office

Wangsheng Li

ZeShan Foundation

Paul Kuhnert

Vice President, Program
Robert Woods Johnson Foundation

Lillian Lou

Executive Director
The John C. Martin Foundation

Tony Lee

Director and Partner
Social Sector Practice, McKinsey & Company

Judith Monroe

president and CEO of the CDC Foundation.

Wangsheng Li

ZeShan Foundation

Nicole M. Smith

Associate Director for Policy & Communication for the Division of Viral Hepatitis at the U.S. CDC.

Isabelle Mayer-Andrieux

Viral Hepatitis Advisor
Médecins Sans Frontières

Annette Sohn

Executive Director
TreatAsia, amfAR

Kathrine Meyers

Director for China Program
Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center at the Rockefeller University

Mike van der Ven

Pivotal Ventures, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Nick Walsh

Medical Officer (Viral Hepatitis)
WHO Western Pacific Regional Office

Stefan Wiktor

Founding Director (retired)
WHO Global Hepatitis Programme

John Ward

Division of Viral Hepatitis, US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

David Wilson

Program director, World Bank’s Health, Population and Nutrition global practice.

Ray Yip

Strategic advisor Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.